BAXTER COUNTY QUORUM COURT JOURNAL OF PROCEEDINGS

August 2, 2022

The Baxter County Quorum Court met in regular session at 6:00 PM in the Baxter County Courtroom with County Judge Mickey Pendergrass presiding. Members present were: Rhonda "Tink" Albright, Ty Chapman, Cameron Davis, Angela DeGroote, Maryanne Edge, Dennis Frank, Kevin Litty, Charles Osgood, Wayne Roth, and Roger Steele. Justice Dirk Waldrop was not in attendance. The meeting began with a moment of silence and the Pledge of Allegiance.

Judge Pendergrass asked if there were any additions or corrections to the minutes of the July meeting. A correction was noted in regards to the discussion regarding the federal audit report having been discussed at that meeting, but having been left out of the Journal of Proceedings. Justice Edge moved that the minutes be approved once that correction is made. Justice Albright seconded that motion. All voted in favor.

Committee Reports:

Justice Davis reported on the July 21 meeting of the Budget Committee. Minutes of that meeting will be attached to this Journal.

Judge Pendergrass noted that item #4 on the agenda requires action from the Personnel Committee prior to being entertained by the full Court, therefore it will be tabled for consideration at a future meeting.

County Treasurer Jenay Mize gave a Treasurer's report.

Mr. Jeremy Ragland, Deputy Director of the Northwest Arkansas Economic Development District, gave a presentation to the Court on the activities and work of the District.

New Business:

Proposed Appropriation Ordinance #2022-43, **AN ORDINANCE APPROPRIATING FEES AND REIMBURSEMENTS RECEIVED IN THE MONTH OF JUNE TO THE SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT 2022 BUDGET**, was sponsored by Justice Albright and read by title only by County Clerk Canda Reese. Justice Davis moved to adopt, seconded by Justice Edge. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Litty, Osgood, Roth, and Steele. The motion carried, and Ordinance #2022-43 was adopted with a vote of 10 YEA, 0 NAY.

Proposed Appropriation Ordinance #2022-44, **AN ORDINANCE AMENDING THE 2022 BUDGET TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS IN THE AMOUNT OF \$2,000.00 INTO THE EXTENSION OFFICE DEPARTMENT 2022 BUDGET,** was sponsored by the Budget Committee and read by title only by the Clerk. Justice Edge moved to adopt the ordinance, seconded by Justice Albright. Being no discussion, the roll was called for adoption. Voting YEA: Justices Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Litty, Osgood, Roth, Steele, and Albright. The motion passed, and Ordinance #2022-44 was adopted with a vote of 10 YEA, 0 NAY.

Proposed Appropriation Ordinance #2022-45, **AN ORDINANCE APPROPRIATING FUNDS IN THE AMOUNT OF \$4,000,000.00 IN THE ARPA REVENUE REPLACEMENT FUND #1006 TO FUND THE PURCHASE OF LAND AND CONSTRUCTION OF THE NEW HEALTH DEPARTMENT BUILDING,** was sponsored by the Budget Committee and read by title only by the Clerk. Justice Frank moved to adopt the ordinance, seconded by Justice Albright. After some discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Litty, Osgood, Roth, Steele, Albright, and Chapman. The motion passed, and Ordinance #2022-45 was adopted with a vote of 10 YEA, 0 NAY.

Proposed Appropriation Ordinance #2022-46, **AN ORDINANCE TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS IN THE AMOUNT OF \$300,000.00 FROM ARPA REVENUE REPLACEMENT FUND #1006 TO ARPA REVENUE REPLACEMENT FUND BUDGET**, was sponsored by the Budget Committee and read by title only by the Clerk. Justice Davis motioned to adopt, seconded by Justice Steele. After brief discussion the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Litty, Osgood, Roth, Steele, Albright, Chapman, and Davis. The motion passed, and Ordinance #2022-46 was adopted with a vote of 10 YEA, 0 NAY.

Proposed Appropriation Ordinance #2022-47, **AN ORDINANCE APPROPRIATING THE REMAINING FUNDS IN THE CRF FUND AND EXCESS COUNTY GENERAL REVENUE FUNDS IN THE AMOUNT OF \$117,137.99 TO THE AIRPORT BOND FUND 2022 BUDGET TO PAY OFF AIRPORT BOND**, was sponsored by the Budget Committee and read by title only by the Clerk. Justice Frank made a motion to adopt, seconded by Justice Davis. Being no discussion the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Edge, Frank, Litty, Osgood, Roth, Steele, Albright, Chapman, Davis, and DeGroote. The motion passed and Ordinance #2022-47 was adopted with a vote of 10 YEA, 0 NAY.

Proposed Appropriation Ordinance #2022-48, **AN ORDINANCE APPROPRIATING \$4,012.63 OF REVENUE FUNDS INTO JUVENILE SERVICES DEPARTMENT BUDGET**, was sponsored by Justice Albright and read by title only by the Clerk. Justice Edge moved to adopt, seconded by Justice DeGroote. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Frank, Litty, Osgood, Roth, Steele, Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, and Edge. The motion passed and Ordinance #2022-48 was adopted with a vote of 10 YEA, 0 NAY. Proposed Re-Appropriation Ordinance #2022-49, **AN ORDINANCE RE-APPROPRIATING FUNDS IN THE 2021 BUDGET, PREVIOUSLY AUTHORIZED IN ORDINANCE #2020-53, FOR THE PURPOSE OF STATE-MANDATED BUDGET CLEAN-UP,** was sponsored by Justice Davis and read by title only by the Clerk. Justice Albright made a motion to adopt, seconded by Justice Edge. Being no discussion the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Litty, Osgood, Roth, Steele, Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Edge, and Frank. The motion passed and Ordinance #2022-49 was adopted with a vote of 10 YEA, 0 NAY.

Proposed Resolution #2022-13, **A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF GWEN KHAYAT TO THE BAXTER COUNTY LIBRARY BOARD**, was sponsored by Justice Edge and read in its entirety by County Clerk Canda Reese. Justice Steele moved to adopt, seconded by Justice Albright. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Osgood, Roth, Steele, Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, and Litty. The motion passed and Resolution #2022-13 was adopted with a vote of 10 YEA, 0 NAY, thereby appointing Gwen Khayat to the Library Board.

Proposed Resolution #2022-14, **A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE BAXTER COUNTY JUDGE TO APPLY FOR A GRANT ON BEHALF OF THE COTTER-GASSVILLE RURAL FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT,** was sponsored by Justice Frank and read in its entirety by the Clerk. Justice Albright made a motion to adopt, seconded by Justice Edge. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Roth, Steele, Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Litty, and Osgood. The motion passed and Resolution #2022-14 was adopted with a vote of 10 YEA, 0 NAY.

After other brief comments, and being no further business before the Court, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Canda J. Reese, Baxter County & Circuit Clerk Secretary to the Quorum Court